Go Back   The AK Files Forums > Rifle Forums > AK-47s

Notices

Old 08-31-2017, 03:11 AM   #1
Skatmanfu
Banned

AKaholic #: 193783
Default WASR 10(2017) -- 922r compliance

I'm brand new to the AKM platform and also the brand new owner of a WASR-10(2017 production) -- via Centerfire Systems sale.

I've scoured the net, and I think that I have a general understanding of 922r compliance.

It's my understanding, and I hope that some posters here can confirm this, that the American made parts on the current production WASRs are:

Trigger Group(3 parts)
Butt Stock
Forearm/Hand Guard
Pistol Grip
Muzzle Brake
Magpul 30rd. Magazine(3 parts)

--10 total US Parts--

While I understand that some of the older production WASRs came with a welded on (US made) Gas Piston, mine has a little wiggle to it, so I believe it to be Romy.

So can anybody confirm that the above (Century US added parts)list is correct for current WASRs?

It's my understanding that the: Receiver, Chrome-Lined Barrel, Bolt, Bolt Carrier, Front Trunnion (along with the Gas Piston) are all Romy, and make up a total of six foreign parts countable towards 922r compliance.

Here's what I would like to do...

I was expecting the rifle to come with the light blonde furniture, but instead it came with a dark brown stained wood instead. It's actually looks pretty nice on the rifle.

However, before I received the rifle, I went ahead and purchased a (foreign) furniture set that is even nicer IMO, and so I think that I'm still going to swap it out. Additionally, I ordered ahead of time, some steel Hungarian Surplus Mags, a Bakelite grip, Bakelite mag and a Romy bayonet.

I was also able to locate and order some US made Mag Floor Plates and Followers from KVAR and Csspecs.

Of course 922r is absolutely stupid...No questioning that. However, I still would like to maintain compliance for the sake of legality.